The Duluth Public Schools have announced teachers deserving of their own Gold Star  that recognizes an outstanding teacher in the Duluth school district.

The recipient of the 2018 Gold Star Teacher Award receives $5,000 will be announced at a special Ceremony & Ice Cream Social on Wednesday, May 16 at 7 p.m. at Lincoln Park Middle School.

The Duluth Public School District says on their website:

Our schools and students are fortunate to have the most educated, experienced, dedicated teachers in the region.

The 2018 Gold Star Teacher Award nominees:

  • William Zwak, Duluth East High School
  • Chrissy Valento, Lincoln Park Middle School
  • Jan Seaman, Duluth Denfeld High School
  • Ann Ek, Rockridge Academy
  • Jane Juten, Ordean East Middle School
  • Joe Schingen, Area Learning Center/AEO

The Goldfine family presents $5,000 annually to an outstanding teacher within the Duluth Public School system. Manley and Lillian Goldfine established the award through the Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation in 2006 to recognize public school teachers who inspire their students and provide a strong foundation for educational, personal and professional success.

More From KOOL 101.7