With the COVID-19 Pandemic going into its tenth month, local government officials continue to find ways to still provide services even while trying to establish protocols to keep everyone safe.  As the end of the year approaches, property tax payments start to become due in many municipalities; it's no different in Douglas County.

KOOL 101.7 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Property taxes in Douglas County follow two important deadlines:

  • January 31:  The entire real estate tax bill or the first installment is due at the Douglas County Treasurers office.
  • July 31: If you choose to pay your taxes in payments (i.e. you made the first installment payment by January 31), the second half (or the remainder) is due at the Douglas County Treasurers office.

The Douglas County Treasurers office has always offered multiple ways to make those payments - and this year is no different; what is different for the 2021 payments is that the county is encouraging taxpayers to "skip the trip" and take advantage of the four different options available to them:

  • Pay by Mail:  The Douglas County Treasurers office reminds taxpayers that they "accept postmark".  Just make your check payable to the "Douglas County Treasurer", write your tax parcel number on the check, and enclose the payment stub (the bottom portion of your Real Property Tax Bill) and mail it to: Douglas County Treasurer, 1313 Belknap Street, Room 102, Superior, Wisconsin, 54880.
  • Pay Online:  The Douglas County Treasurers office does accept payment online . It's worth noting however that it will cost you an additional 2.39% for credit card payments or $1.50 for E-Checks. Just go to www.douglascountywi.org.
  • Pay by Dropbox: Payments may be placed in the drop box that's located in the circle-driveaway that's in front of the Government Center:  1314 N 14th St, Superior, WI, 54880.
  • Pay in Person:  The Douglas County Treasurers office is still accepting payments in-person at their office.  Here are the office hours:  Monday through Friday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.  It's worth noting that the Douglas County Treasurers office will be closed on January 1 for the New Year holiday.

For more details or for additional information, click here to visit the City of Superior's website, or click here to visit the Douglas County website.

12 Things That Define Duluth And The Twin Ports

More From KOOL 101.7