Scott Sandelin is nominated for the Spencer Penrose Award and has a really good chance to win.

Scott has been at the top of his game for the past few years and is reaping the benefits at the end of the year. Good recruiting has always been one of Scott's strong points. When you have one of the best teams in the country the pitch to a potential player isn't that hard.

For the third consecutive year, Coach Scott Sandelin has been named as one of 10 finalists for the prestigious Spencer Penrose Award. The award is presented every year to the NCAA Division 1 Men's Hockey Coach of the Year.

Sandelin has won the award once in 2004.  He was also a runner up seven years ago. Coach Sandelin's overall record is 367-311-87, and his playoff winning percentage is the best among active head coaches (.760).

Other finalists this year include:

David Carle (Denver)
Greg Carvel (Massachusetts)
Mike Hastings (Minnesota State)
Casey Jones (Clarkson)
Eric Lang (American International)
Brett Larson (St. Cloud State)
Nate Leaman (Providence College)
Greg Powers (Arizona State)
Steve Rohlik (Ohio State)

The voting takes place ahead of next week's NCAA Frozen Four in Buffalo, with the award being presented on April 10th.  The Bulldogs first game in the Frozen Four is against Providence at 4 pm on April 11th.

More From KOOL 101.7