Northlanders looking to travel to New York will need to self-quarantine for 14 days before they can enjoy the sights and sounds.  Both Minnesota and Wisconsin were just added to New York's Travel Advisory List - joining 20 other states.

According to news sources, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that a travel enforcement operation would start immediately at airports across the state to "ensure travelers are following the state's quarantine restrictions and to help contain the rates of COVID-19 transmission in New York State".  The report also shares that "[t]he quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive  test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average".

Here's a list of the 22 states that New York has an active Travel Advisory on:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

Failure to keep to the mandated 14-day quarantine comes with some pretty stiff penalties.  The state governors website discloses:

"Travelers who leave the airport without completing the form will be subject to a $2,000 fine and may be brought to a hearing and ordered to complete mandatory quarantine. Airlines have all pledged to help make passengers aware of the new requirement using pre-flight emails, pre-flight announcements, in-flight announcements and other methods. Additionally, travelers coming to New York from designated states through other means of transport, including trains and cars, must fill out the DOHtraveler form online"

KOOL 101.7 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

How To Prep For Winter During The Summer

More From KOOL 101.7