Three members of the Hermantown Boys Varsity Boys Hockey Team were named as finalists for Mr. Hockey and the Frank Brimsek award. 

Mr. Hockey is the award that is given to the most outstanding senior boys' hockey player and is selected by "NHL scouts, junior scouts/coaches and college coaches." according to

Dylan Samberg and Ryan Sandelin of Hermantown have both made list of finalists for the Mr. Hockey Award. Samberg is a defenseman for the Hawks and is committed to University of Minnesota-Duluth. Sandelin is a forward for the Hawks and is leading the team in both goals and assists. Sandelin will be attending Minnesota State-Mankato where he will play hockey for the Mavericks.

Grand Rapids forward Micah Miller was also named as a finalist. Miller is leading Grand Rapids in goals and assists and is committed to play at St. Cloud State.

Hermantown Hawk senior goaltender Cade Mcewen was named as a finalist for the Frank Brimsek Award for the state's top senior goaltender. Mcewen has a record for 22 wins, one loss and one tie this season.

Both of these awards are presented by the Minnesota Minute Men. The winners are announced at the Mr. Hockey Award Banquet on March 12th right after the end of the Minnesota State High School Hockey Tournament.

More From KOOL 101.7