It was only two years ago that American Idol favorite James Durbin made his recording debut with Quiet Riot. The latest chapter of the band's storied history continues with Hollywood Cowboys, their 14th full length album, due Nov. 8. Previewing the record, they've released the new single "Don't Call it Love," which can be heard below.

"The song essentially started with a straight ahead drum groove that incorporates tempo lifts within the arrangement. It made it possible for Neil, my songwriting partner, and I to write and build a very concise track as a vehicle for what would follow lyrically," drummer and sole original member Frankie Banali said of the track. "My dear friend and amazing songwriter Jacob Bunton wrote the lyrics for this track and several others as well as providing background vocals and just did a fantastic job."

It's a hard-edged, mid-tempo song that sways in intensity, perfectly setting up the explosive chorus where Durbin showcases the power of his upper register.

Commenting on the album on the whole, Banali added, "This is the most diverse Quiet Riot release. The songs run the gamut from straight ahead balls to the wall rock tracks, to a blues song, to double bass drum pedal to the metal songs and Quiet Riot straight ahead rock tracks. There is a whole lotta grooves going on!"

Hollywood Cowboys will be released through Frontiers Music Srl and can be pre-ordered here. View the album art and track listing beneath the video.

Quiet Riot, "Don't Call It Love"

Quiet Riot, Hollywood Cowboys Album Art + Track Listing

Frontiers Music SRL
Frontiers Music SRL

01. "Don’t Call It Love"
02. "In the Blood"
03. "Heartbreak City"
04. "The Devil That You Know"
05. "Change or Die"
06. "Roll On"
07. "Insanity"
08. "Hellbender"
09. "Wild Horses"
10. "Holding On"
11. "Last Outcast"
12. "Arrows and Angels"

See Quiet Riot in the Top 80 Hard Rock + Metal Albums of the 1980s

More From KOOL 101.7